I wouldn’t mind if some of these were mine

Leave a comment
Het Nieuwe Instituut, Photography

I’ve been working with these archives for years now, but I never grow tired of it. I’m mostly interested in their photographic collections, rather obviously so I suppose, and they are still a source of wonder to me. Not so much because I keep finding new things (that too, cause it’s huge), but mostly because I look at these pictures differently now than I did a couple of years ago. First of all, my frame of reference has changed quite a bit since then. Five years ago, I wasn’t particularly interested in photography. I didn’t practice it myself, and I had very little experience in looking at images. Second: for various projects I’ve been collaborating with photographer/artist J.S. over the last two years, including doing research and selecting images from these archives. He has an interesting way of looking at images. I don’t always agree with his choices – or I don’t understand them – but working with him is always refreshing and exciting.

I had a bit of a slow day yesterday. It was a national holiday, but I decided to go to work anyway. I took a handful of images from the hard drive that I particularly like for some reason. And I’d like to not explain why. For a change.

10_City Hall Terneuzen_BROX_f1324_Broek_en_Bakema_1500px

BAZE_1503-15_1500px


BERL_ph548_1500px

BUYS_n6_1500px


STAM_n195_1000px


BLOM_f232-15

Photos taken from the Archives for Dutch Architecture and Urban Planning, Het Nieuwe Instituut, Rotterdam. 

Leave a Reply

