Meet the artist

6 comments
Photography

“.. and a few words about your work and yourself?’

Oh dear.

So, I’m struggling with words now, about me as a photographer and the pictures they wish to feature in their magazine. Joggling with fragments of texts written on earlier occassions. But it all very much feels like I’m blowing things out of proportion. Thinking of this article by Joerg Colberg: “Why should it always be about something“. I’m writing words like ‘perspective’ and ‘exploring’ and ‘interested’. A good thing that English is not my first language. God knows what I would come up with if I had the vocabulary to back it up. I have this sudden urge to write something like this:

“These are my vacation pictures that I took over the last couple of years, in Alaska, Iceland, Norway, Chile, places that I can only afford to go to because my boyfriend earns a lot of money. I have no training whatsoever in photography. I studied literature, I was too shy to become a journalist, or to become anything really, and now I sit at a desk, eight hours a day, five days a week. In the weekends I have all sorts of boring social and domestic obligations. And if not, I’m either too lazy or too uninspired to pick up a camera. I prefer watching Homeland or Game of Thrones when it gets dark and rainy, and that happens a lot. So really, the main reason for me to shoot in these far away countries is that a vacation seems to be the only opportunity that I have to do some shooting at all. That sucks, but on the other hand, it saves me a lot of effort because those foreign landscapes are so much prettier than the ones around here.”

No, I won’t. But tempted, though.

Portrait of the artist as a middle aged woman with yesterday’s hair. Picture taken with the Fuji, obviously.

6 thoughts on “Meet the artist”

      • But now you have this version. And it’s.. a fresh gust—of northern air in november—among the nonsense that is artist statements and the likes : )

        • I like what you’re saying : ) But of course this text is an overstatement as well, only in the opposite direction. This little excercise, and looking at the final result on their website, makes me realize that you can frame a picture any way you want to. Words don’t tell you anything about a photograph, only about the writer.

Leave a Reply

