Ambiguous spaces

2 comments
Photography

It was the best day to visit the zoo: the air cold and crisp, a clear sky, no wind, the sun low. Quiet, no queues. Most families were at home celebrating an early St. Nicolas I suppose. I like the zoo. I like the constructed landscapes, especially indoors, where the illusion of a natural environment or habitat is even harder to accomplish. I like photographing limited spaces, and I like ambiguous spaces. When you can’t be really sure about what you’re looking at. What it’s used for. What the purpose is, or its state. Whether something is being built or broken down. Old or new. Artificial or not.

I shot a few of those indoor landscapes, was moderately happy with them, although technically they weren’t very good. Dirty windows, reflections, low light and obstructions had been less than helpful. But then I realised that this was hardly the real problem. This was: we have become so familiar with these little diorama’s, ambiguous by nature, that they have lost most of their ambivalence. They have become a typology of their own. There is no ambiguity in reading them. And with my pictures, I was only expressing that very fact. Eventually, I ended up with only two that I liked. Because they were the only ones not immediately revealing themselves, leaving room for wonder.

dsc_1127_1200px

Photo’s taken with the Nikon

2 thoughts on “Ambiguous spaces”

Leave a Reply

